Events of 2019


The Century House Historical Society hosted a number of events on the estate and in the Widow Jane Mine.
Many events are benefits for the Society.

For events the CHHS produced, we took pre-sales and electronic payment for the first time!

Events for 2019:

  • SPRING SPRUCE-UP DAY: Sunday May 5, 10:00 am – 3:00 pm
  • CHHS SEASON OPENING: Sunday May 12, 1-4 pm  (Mother’s Day)
    Featuring a Geology walk of the Estate by Prof. Steven Schimmrich.
  • WALLKILL VALLEY LAND TRUST (WVLT) HOUSE TOUR: June 1
    (See WVLT web page)
  • SITE CLOSED: Shaman’s Dawn Private Event: June 8-9
  • POP-UP EVENT! Come Blow Your Horn Day: June 23rd
  • HUDSON VALLEY POET BANDS SHOW: Saturday July 6, 4:30 pm
  • POP-UP EVENT! Scream Real Loud Day: July 7th
  • TAIKO MASALA Japanese Drumming Concert: Sunday, July 14, 3 – 5 pm
  • ROSENDALE STREET FESTIVAL: We will be tabling! Sat-Sun July 20-21
  • SITE CLOSED: Into the Deep Private Event: Saturday July 27
  • POP-UP EVENT! Photo, Drawing, and Painting Day: July 28th
  • POP-UP EVENT! Victorian Picnic : August 4th
  • CATSKILL MOUNTAIN GAMELAN:  Sunday, August 11, 3 – 5 pm
  • MAMALAMA Y ANDES MANTA: Saturday, August 24, 3 – 5 pm
  • FISHKILL FENCING MEET: Sunday Aug 25th
  • POP-UP EVENT! Widstock August 18th
  • MUSEUM SEASON LAST DAY: Sunday, Sept 1, 1-4pm
  • SITE CLOSED: Movie shoot, Friday Sept 6
  • SUBTERRANEAN POETRY FESTIVAL: Saturday, Sept 7, 1 – 4 pm
  • SITE CLOSED: Movie shoot, Sunday, Sept 8
  • SITE CLOSED: Private event: Friday, Sept 13 until 2pm.
  • DZIECI THEATRE’S MAKBET: Saturday Sept 14 doors and pre-show activity 2PM, Show 3-5
  • SITE CLOSED: Movie shoot, Friday Sept 20
  • SUN AND STONE FESTIVAL: Saturday Sept 21 11 am – 10 pm
  • FALL CLEAN-UP DAY: Sunday, Oct. 13, 10 – 2
  • HAUNTED MINE Saturday November 2nd 5pm
  • CHHS ANNUAL MEETING: Saturday, Dec. 7, 1 pm
    Rosendale Community Center. Speaker : John Cox of Quercus Cooperage

NOTE! For all events in the Widow Jane Mine, please bring a fold up chair and a light jacket!

Look for pop-up events throughout the year! Fun reasons to visit the Estate during Sunday Museum hours!

Month: Year:
« Prev September 2019 Next »
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
            1
* Museum Closing DayMuseum Closing Day

The last day to visit the museum. Offseason, contact us for an appointment.

2
3
4
5
6
* Movie ShootMovie Shoot

B. Brumm

7
* Subterranean Poetry FestivalSubterranean Poetry Festival

Time: 1:00 pm

Back for its 29th year, poetry and Music resound in the Mine for an amazing show!

8
* Movie ShootMovie Shoot

B. Brumm

9
10
11
12
13
* Private EventPrivate Event

Site closed until 2pm.

14
* Dzieci Theatre's MakbetDzieci Theatre's Makbet

Time: 2:00 pm

The international experimental theatre ensemble Dzieci Theatre' production of Makbet casts the space and the audience in a spiritual underground realization of the Scottish Play. Pre-show and door: 2:00 PM, show 3:00 PM, mingling after the show.

15
16
17
18
19
20
* Movie ShootMovie Shoot

Time: 1:55 pm


21
* Sun and Stone FestivalSun and Stone Festival

Time: 11:00 am

A festival featuring lots of music energy and solar energy ina benefit for the CHHS.

22
23
* movie shootmovie shoot

Site closed

24
25
26
27
28
29
30
           
Category Key
 Event
 General
 Pop-Up Event
 SITE CLOSED
 Walk & Talk